Every Kid Healthy Week - Action for Healthy Kids
Open Search

Every Kid Healthy Week (April 20-24, 2020)

Due to CDC guidelines on slowing the spread of COVID-19 (Coronavirus), we are no longer encouraging schools to host Every Kid Healthy Week events this year even if schools are open. 

Every Kid Healthy Week is still on the calendar!

We encourage schools and parents to focus on promoting health and well-being at home. You can find activity ideas on our Every Kid Healthy Week resource page, in our Game On Activity Library, and in this curated list of at-home activities.

Those celebrating Every Kid Healthy Week at home are still invited follow along with each day’s theme (see below), share your activities on social media using #EveryKidHealthyWeek and tag us, and tell us how you are celebrating.

Take action during Every Kid Healthy Week.

Help us reach our goal of 1 million actions for healthy, happy kids by 2025.

Anyone (students, parents/caregivers, educators, school administrators, community members, businesses) can take action during Every Kid Healthy Week. You can follow the Every Kid Healthy Week daily themes or build your own activities based on your needs. Most importantly, share what you’re doing so we can count your actions.

To participate at home this year, in addition to the resources linked above, we recommend following us on social media where we’ll be posting activity ideas each day. We’ll also be doing live videos on Facebook with activities for each day’s theme.

Facebook Live Healthy Activities!
(Each video is only about 10 minutes long.)

Mindfulness Monday

4/20, 4:30 ET/3:30 CT/2:30 MT/1:30 PT: On Mindfulness Monday, help your kids find their center and check in with how they’re feeling. Use this practice to set intentions for the week ahead or wind down before bed! RSVP

Presented by Ashley Green, AFHK Program Manager and Yoga Teacher-in-Training

Tasty Tuesday

4/21, 3pm ET/2pm CT/1pm MT/12pm PT: On Tasty Tuesday, join with your kids for a taste test…with a twist! Learn how to customize a healthy homemade granola that goes from breakfast to snack time. RSVP

Presented by Grace Perry, AFHK Program Manager and Registered Dietitian

Earth Day Wellness Wednesday

4/22, 5:30pm ET/4:30pm CT/3:30pm MT/2:30pm PT: On Earth Day Wellness Wednesday, learn how to use veggie scraps and household trash to grow new, healthy foods for your family—you don’t even need a garden! RSVP

Presented by Danielle Marquez, AFHK Parent Ambassador and Gardener Extraordinaire

Thoughtful Thursday

4/23, 5pm ET/4pm CT/3pm MT/2pm PT: On Thoughtful Thursday, help your kids recognize and talk about what they are grateful for by learning how to build a “gratitude tree” centerpiece. RSVP

Presented by Rob Bisceglie, AFHK CEO

Fitness Friday

4/24, 3pm ET/2pm CT/1pm MT/12pm PT: On Fitness Friday, get ready to test your concentration and physical activity skills with a game of “Up, Down. Stop, Go.” The whole family can participate and play – just prep a small space with enough room to move around! RSVP

Presented by Tashan Kilkenny, AFHK State Coordinator and Youth Development Specialist

Get More Ideas & Resources

Show us your Every Kid Healthy Week!

Post photos and videos from your events and activities on social media using the hashtags #EveryKidHealthyWeek and #TakeAction4HealthyKids, and tag us @act4healthykids on Instagram, @ActionforHealthyKids on Facebook, or @act4hlthykids on Twitter so we can see—and share—whatever everyone is doing!

Don’t forget to follow us on social media, too, so you can get activity ideas throughtout the week.

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Get a Pack, Give a Pack

Thanks to our generous sponsor GoGo squeeZ, you can help a family in need during Every Kid Healthy Week just by sharing how you’re helping your kids develop healthy habits while at home. The first 500 people to fill out this form telling us what Every Kid Healthy Week activities you’re doing with your kids will receive a coupon for a free pack of fruit pouches, and another family will also receive a pack*!

*Promotion Rules:

  • The first 500 people to share their Every Kid Healthy Week actions will receive a coupon for a free pack of GoGo squeeZ.
  • GoGo squeeZ and AFHK will be giving another 2,000 packs of fruit pouches to families in need by way of school meal distribution.
  • Please double check your email and physical addresses for completion so we get the coupon to the right place.
  • If you are not one of the first 500 people to fill out the form, we are unable to notify you. If you are, we will be sending a confirmation email in late April.

What is it?

Every Kid Healthy™ Week is an annual observance created in 2013 to celebrate school health and wellness achievements. Recognized on the calendar of National Health Observances and observed the last full week of April each year, each day of the week shines a spotlight on the great actions schools and families are taking to improve the health and wellness of their kids and the link between nutrition, physical activity, mental health and learning – because healthy kids are better prepared to learn and thrive!

Anyone can get involved with an Every Kid Healthy Week event: Schools are invited to host an event (or two!) during Every Kid Healthy Week, and families and community members can volunteer at or attend local events or participate in activities at home. Get event and activity ideas, as well as planning resources, here.

Want more info? View our Every Kid Healthy Week 2020 webinar here.

Join the Movement

It takes more than a week to get every kid healthy. Find out additional ways you can take action today for children across the country.

Get Involved