Upcoming Webinars - Action for Healthy Kids
Open Search

Upcoming Webinars

For more events, including workshops and conferences, visit our Events Calendar. Here, you will also find a list of all of our archived webinars – so you won’t miss a beat!

 

Move with Me: Mindfulness for Energy and Expression  

Tuesday, September 22, 2020 at 11:30am CT | 30 minutes  

Hosted by FORWARD DuPage in partnership with Action for Healthy Kids 

Mindfulness practices help us to slow down and reflect on how we feel, both physically and emotionally, and better understand the world around us. When paired with movement, we can use these exercises to express how we feel and refuel for the day ahead!  

Whether practicing at home, through distance learning or in the classroom – this one is designed specifically for kids! Join in alongside your children/students or have them practice on their own and discover a few simple tools to help us mindful movement to reflect, reenergize, and reset. 

 9:30 AM PT; 10:30 AM MT; 11:30 AM CT; 12:30 PM ET 

Register Here 

 

Supporting the Whole Child: SELing Physical Activity and Play 

Tuesday, September 24, 2020 AT 3:00pm CT | 45 minutes  

With competing priorities in an unpredictable environment, it can be challenging to make the case for physical activity and play while also focusing on social-emotional learning. 

In this learning session, Action for Healthy Kids will look at why “SEL-ing” Physical Activity and Active Play as a priority is important in the upcoming school year (and beyond), strategies for addressing in different learning environments and discuss ways to use as a vehicle to promote social-emotional learning for double the impact.  

1:00 PM PT; 2:00 PM MT; 3:00PM CT, 4:00 PM ET 

Register Here 

 

Supporting the Whole Child: SELing” Nutrition Education and Health Promotion 

Tuesday, September 30, 2020 at 3:00pm CT 45 minutes  

With competing priorities in an unpredictable environment, it can be challenging to make the case for nutrition education and health promotion while also focusing on social-emotional learning. 

In this learning session, Action for Healthy Kids will look at why “SEL-ing” Nutrition Education and Health Promotion as a priority is important in the upcoming school year (and beyond), strategies for addressing in different learning environments and discuss ways to use as a vehicle to promote social-emotional learning for double the impact.  

1:00 PM PT; 2:00 PM MT; 3:00PM CT, 4:00 PM ET 

Register Here 

 

Vaping is a Health Hazard! What Can You Do to Protect Your Kids? (Part 1)

Oct 6, 2020 11:30 AM Central Time (US and Canada)

Hosted by TX Action for Healthy Kids. According to the 2018 Texas Youth Tobacco Survey, 13% of youth used e-cigarettes in the past 30 days. This means that 18.9% of high school students and 6.0% of middle school students used e-cigarettes in the past 30 days. E-cigarettes are dangerous and we must provide our schools with the resources and support to keep our children safe. Join us for two webinars that will share resources, policies and programs to help you help your school fight against vaping.

Part I
· Information on the youth vaping epidemic, laws, and policies
· Overview of the links between vaping, lung health, and infectious diseases, like
coronavirus
· In-depth look at the evidence-based CATCH My Breath curriculum including STEM
and Humanities

Register here. After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.

 

Vaping is a Health Hazard! What Can You Do to Protect Your Kids? (Part II)

Oct 7, 2020 11:30 AM Central Time (US and Canada)
12:30 PM ET; 11:30 AM CT; 10:30 AM MT; 9:30 AM PT

Hosted by TX Action for Healthy Kids. According to the 2018 Texas Youth Tobacco Survey, 13% of youth used e-cigarettes in the past 30 days. This means that 18.9% of high school students and 6.0% of middle school students used e-cigarettes in the past 30 days. E-cigarettes are dangerous and we must provide our schools with the resources and support to keep our children safe. Join us for two webinars that will share resources, policies and programs to help you help your school fight against vaping. 1 2018 TX Youth Tobacco Survey

Part II
· Policies that can have a major impact at state, local and campus level
· SAYWHAT! youth engagement initiative
· Students share their experiences and success

Register here. After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.

 

 

 

These webinars will be archived for those unable to attend the live session. You will receive information about future sessions from Action for Healthy Kids.

Be sure to sign up for our news and updates to learn more about new opportunities as they get added to the schedule. And if you like what you see, please donate to support our work creating more ways to help build a healthier future for kids.

Sign Up for Our Newsletters!

Stay in the know and be the first to learn about upcoming webinars!  Sign up for our newsletter to get news, tips, events, ideas, and opportunities for improving kids’ health right in your inbox.

Sign-Up